For many drivers, turning left is a routine action with little consequence. But turning left can be dangerous—the driver must turn into oncoming traffic and consider a multitude of other hazards, like traffic light timing and the speed of other vehicles. When some drivers on the road are intoxicated or driving recklessly, the care taken by a driver in making their left turn could be irrelevant. And side impact collisions, or “T-bones”, can be deadly to passengers when drivers are making left turns.
According to a recent report, a man in his 20s died in a two-car collision in Los Angeles. The man was a passenger in the accident. Another driver struck the vehicle while it was trying to turn left. Police say alcohol and drugs played a factor in the accident, and it occurred at 2 a.m. Police are conducting an investigation to determine if speed was also a factor in the accident. No information was provided as to the condition of the driver of the passenger’s car, and the other driver was detained at the scene.
When a car is struck while turning, questions may arise as to the legality of the turn. Even if the other driver was intoxicated, if the turning car was speeding, running a red light, neglecting to stop at a stop sign, or not looking both ways, there may be multiple contributing factors to an accident. An experienced California personal injury attorney can help weigh these factors and evaluate your likelihood of compensation.
Can I Recover Compensation Even if I am at Fault?
If you were hurt in a car accident with an intoxicated driver, you may be thinking of bringing a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver. When multiple factors contribute to an accident, your compensation could change dramatically based on what state you’re in. Even if you are partially at fault for a car accident, California is a pure comparative negligence state. This means you can still bring a claim even if you are partially at fault for the accident. For example, if you were running a stale yellow light and speeding slightly, this may mean you were 20% at fault for the accident. But if another driver struck you while intoxicated and failing to look, they could be 80% at fault. If your damages are $100,000 for medical expenses and lost income, you could still recover $80,000 in the state of California.
A skilled California personal injury attorney can help you evaluate your claims and minimize your fault at trial. If you have been injured in an accident, do not delay in finding the right attorney.
Contact a California Personal Injury Lawyer
If you or someone you know has been injured in a California car accident and you’re thinking about bringing a claim, call the attorneys at Neumann Law Group today. Our attorneys are passionate about helping victims of car accidents and other injuries get the compensation they need and deserve. Call Neumann Law Group today at 800-525-6386 to schedule a free initial consultation.